Day three, part 2

by celtaconfessions

Tutor explained point by point what we had to do for the first assignment. I’ve already covered this, so I won’t do it again. If you haven’t read it, go here.

We were introduced to our portfolios, and tutor went through each section. We started filling out some parts.

We then looked at the lesson plan. We were given three samples: discreet item (DI), TBL (task-based learning) and skills. I had already looked at lesson planning here. What I might have forgotten to mention was that the post-lesson evaluation needed to be completed before the feedback session. This meant that the last person teaching had the least amount of time to finish this task.

Advice: do the language analysis first, not last. This will help you plan your lesson – it may throw up possible problems which you may have been unaware of, and which may need to be addressed. In other words, don’t just follow the coursebook! I never followed the coursebook anyway, so I didn’t have this problem; in fact, I hardly ever looked at them throughout the whole course (in the last level, I’d even left the coursebook in class), which perhaps worked against me since Cambridge, after all, is a publisher, and they would like (us?) to sell their books! 😉

During the rest of the day, Ian did guided lesson planning with teachers 1, 2 and 3. I think he talked to teachers 4, 5, and 6 regarding the following day’s lessons. I have no records of this.

