Day 1, 1st Oct, Part 3

by celtaconfessions

I promise that this will be the last part of day one! It’s turned out to be somewhat of a marathon of a day – to tell you the truth, I started a diary, but it didn’t get further than lunch time, day one! LOL. So maybe, this will be the last post… 😉

Well, we broke up for lunch. I can’t remember what I did or had, but the hour would have been & gone before I knew it, of that I’m sure. It was a relatively relaxing post-lunch “input” as we were shown around the complex and how to use the photocopiers and access the computers.

After that, we divided ourselves up into our little groups and went into our respective classrooms with our tutors.

We were shown the class and we were told of the daily routine: we start off with a 2-hour teaching practice. This is followed by feedback where the trainee who taught will talk about what went well, what didn’t, etc. and the others will give their opinions, too. The tutor will also give his feedback, and his evaluation.

After the feedback, it’s an hour lunch break. In the later stages, we actually had 2 hours sometimes. After lunch, all 18 of us will get together for the input sessions (normally 2).

The following day, day 2, we will all give our first lessons to our students. The first TP would last 20 minutes. So, our respective tutors went through some GLP with us. This was what we were given.

As can be seen, I was teacher 6. Hatty was teacher 1. To be honest, I didn’t envy her – being first to dive into the pool when you have no idea as to the depth nor the temperature would have sent my nerves into places I didn’t even know existed, but being T6 wasn’t exactly the best either. You’ll have to wait until everyone has had their turn, and the students will have seen how the rest had performed and may be already thinking of their coffee and whatnot. Having said that, what I did like was my aim: to give controlled practice.

For this, our first TP, Ian looked at the coursebook, and then gave us ideas on what we could do, what might work and what might not.

My comment: even for an experienced teacher, the very thought of having to give a 20-minute lesson while being observed and evaluated by a tutor, and also being scrutinised by 5 fellow trainees is rather unnerving. So, genuinely fresh inexperienced trainees deserve all my respect! If you’re one of these, and are thinking of doing the CELTA, reading this blog will give you a headstart! The more you can prepare yourself, the better off you will be.

As Ozzie Chris, one of the trainees, kept saying “Doing CELTA is self-flagellation!”

