Seville, touchdown (28-30 Sep)

by celtaconfessions

The beginning of a new dawn… well, one can always live in hope!

With a heavy suitcase & rucksack, I wasn’t prepared to negotiate the buses – the airport bus would have left me too far from the apartment and I’d have to take a taxi from the station to get to the apartment. No, I’m just too weary for that. Those were the days when I would have the strength to do that. Not anymore.

“¿Veintidós, no?”

“No, no. Veinticuatro.”

“Ah, ¿ha subido?”

“No, ya hace tiempo ha sido veinticuatro.”

Well, I was wily enough to pretend I’m not a first-timer. The first thing I noticed was there was no taxi meter – at least not where I can see it. I knew it was going to be around 23 or 24 euros. I’m not sure if it’s normal or not, but the return, i.e. from the apartment to the airport would later cost me 22€.

Anyway, he dropped me off. I’d already rung the agency to tell them I was arriving, but I later found out that they had misinformed the person who was meeting me at the apartment – they told her that I was arriving at the time I was leaving! So, that poor lady had been waiting for two hours or so, and had decided to go have her lunch. In short, I had to wait for a while.

The façade of the building wasn’t very impressive and when I went in, I was rather disappointed. It was smaller than I’d expected, the cream-coloured sofa was stained, the bedroom had no wardrobe, the chairs were not meant for sitting on for long periods…

Anyway, I’m here. The flight was good. I’ll adapt.

The second thing I noticed about Seville, I quickly found out, was that it was very easy to get lost! The narrow roads are hardly ever straight – they all seemed to curve ever so slightly that you hardly notice and before you do, you’ve gone one big circle.

This is going to be fun!

Took me two or three attempts until I decided to follow Google maps to the letter and found out that the school would be barely a five-minute walk away. Cool!

