If we could bottle time…

by celtaconfessions

CELTA time constraints

When I started looking at the syllabus, I didn’t get very far before I got sidetracked, did I? If that’s a sign of things to come, I won’t be progressing much!

I went back to it today and the reason why everyone’s thinking I’m crazy to even think of working while taking the course is gradually becoming apparent. Let’s look at the mathematics.

I quote from the Cambridge syllabus: “Courses will have a minimum of 120 contact (bold typeface is mine) hours” and then it goes on to add “Candidates will need to dedicate a minimum of 80 hours for the required reading, research, pre- and post-session tasks,  assignments and lesson preparation.”

So, let’s look deeper into what they’re saying. 120 hours in 4 weeks will give an average of 30 hours/week and divide that into 5 and we get an average class time of 6 hours per day.

Now, we take the 80 additional hours; dividing that by four will give us an average of 20 hours per week. So, let’s say we dedicate 2 hours per weekday, which will leave us another 10 hours we need to dedicate to the course at the weekend!

Not for the faint-hearted, eh?

If you’ve lost track of your fingers, let me put it clearer.

Mon-Fri: 6 + 2 hours of mental gymnastics. That’s one-third of your day. The other third will be dedicated to recovery and the other mundane activities, like Anthony Gaughan suggested in a comment: shopping, commuting, housework, etc.

Sat-Sun: 10 hours to be divided however you like.

I can imagine that, in practice, time dedicated to the course will be even more than this due to human weaknesses such as fatigue, distraction and time-wasting.

Any comments? Moi, no comment, amen.

