Flight booked

by celtaconfessions

Day: 23 -28 Aug 2012

I’d been keen to book at least the departure flight as the prices were slowly creeping up and I didn’t want to end up with egg on my face. Ryan Air’s prices were quite good for the day – actually the day I’d chosen, 28th September, was because of its fares. After checking their pages daily for several days, I decided to place a booking. As it happened, I couldn’t do it. There was something wrong with either my card or the payment system – it kept asking me to try again or use another card.

Well, I tried it for 2 or 3 days, including using other cards and my wife’s. All to no avail. I used different browsers, different computers. All resulted in the same error message.

Karma?

Now, one of the ridiculous things about renting Seville’s apartments is that they charged about 30€ if you arrive late – “late” means as early as 8 or 9 pm! And Ryan Air’s flight departs late.

On hindsight, it was ridiculous that I hadn’t looked at other options, presuming there to be no choices for me, but the inability to pay on Ryan Air’s website forced me to look elsewhere and I discovered, to my surprise, that I could go by Air Europa! It was slightly more expensive, but if I added the above-mentioned 30€, it’d come up to about the same.

I was a bit more at peace after having booked the departure. I mulled over the return flight until 28th August when I decided against waiting any longer. The prices were unlikely to drop; if anything, they were more likely to go up. Eventually, I opted for Air Europa for the return flight, too. They were more expensive but Ryan Air flies in the evening while Air Europa departs around midday and I figured that after a month in Seville I’d probably be homesick by then! Rather than hanging around the whole day in the streets, having to check out of the apartment in the morning, it made more sense to just head for home!

