Free CELTA course!

by celtaconfessions

Day: 1st June 2012

Location: Twitter, where else?

What happened?

I read that International House was offering 50 free CELTA courses in a competition to celebrate their 50th anniversary. Free CELTA! Who could resist that?

Investigating further, I established that there would be 50 places from 50 different IH centres from around the globe, i.e. one free course per centre. Mmm, not so easy, huh? In addition, it’s one application per entrant, so no cheating!

The award covers the tuition, examination and certificate fees – all other expenses will be borne by the students themselves. I’d like to do the course in Spain and I saw that there were three centres participating: Barcelona, Madrid and Seville. The choice wasn’t all that difficult for me to make. Seville. No doubt about it. I deduced, rightly or wrongly, that Seville would attract the least applicants among the three, thereby increasing my chances of winning. In addition, it’s the smallest city of the three and I guessed that living costs would be the cheapest.

What have I got to lose? I wrote in for more information.

It was much later that I found out that Seville is the fourth largest city in Spain and that accommodation prices here are quite steep!

