CELTA interview by telephone

by celtaconfessions

Day: 12th Aug 2012

Unfortunately, I didn’t keep notes on the interview, so I’ll just have to rely on my rather poor memory! I’d chosen to do it by phone rather than Skype – I can hide behind the phone!

CELTA interview by phone

Photo taken from by George Redgrave, used under a CC Attribution, Non-Deriv licence.

To be honest, I don’t remember much. I can’t remember the interviewer’s name (or was it Claire? Let’s call her that anyway). She was very pleasant, English, judging by the way she spoke. We talked a little about myself especially with regards to my current situation, and about why I wanted to do the CELTA. Even though I was nervous, Claire was very good and managed to put me at ease.

She briefly explained what the course involves and asked if I thought it would be a problem for me. For those who don’t know, CELTA is a month-long full-time course and trainees get thrown into the deep end, so to speak, right from the start. It’s been a long time since I had to endure a full day’s class, let alone for a whole month! I didn’t lie to her – I told her I was rather worried about it but, at the same time, I will cope with it simply because I will have no choice!

She then went on to question me on some of my answers in the pre-interview tasks A – C.

I don’t know how long the interview went on for, but I’m sure it was more than 30 minutes, more like an hour, to be honest. And me, sweating the whole time! I’ve never liked interviews, being a slow thinker and not one who relishes thinking on his feet!

Well, that’s that done and a load off my shoulders; now, to wait…

